Infotainment Factory: McGregor hits out at crucial penalty call

Trending

>

Post Top Ad

Post Top Ad

Saturday, 15 September 2018

McGregor hits out at crucial penalty call


//

St George Illawarra coach Paul McGregor has questioned a contentious penalty call on hooker Cameron McInnes in the semi-final defeat to the Rabbitohs.

With the Dragons in an attacking position in the final 10 minutes, McInnes was adjudged to have deliberately passed the ball into an opponent, triggering an automatic penalty.

Speaking after his side's loss to South Sydney, McGregor questioned the decision according to his own understanding of the play-the-ball rule, calling the call an "important" one.

"The rule that I know to be is that it's only a penalty if the passer changes his line of pass and I'm not sure if Cam did that," McGregor said.

"So obviously the bloke couldn't get out of the way and it was play on.

"That's fine he didn't have to get out of the way because he didn't have to move.

https://twitter.com/wwos/status/1040925587529850882

"To my liking Cam didn't pass it down, he passed it flat, so I'd say play on."

McGregor's belief was supported by Nine's commentators Andrew Johns and Phil Gould during the broadcast.

Gould especially criticised the referee for cracking down on the play during a pivotal point of the game.

"They made a decision earlier in the year, they were going to stop people from (deliberately passing into the opponent), but it's not really the time to apply it there," Gould said.

"Cameron McInnes was trying to get the ball to his teammate. He had De Belin lined up and the bloke was just laying there."

The play-the-ball rule has been a contentious topic throughout the season, with teams struggling to get a grasp of the umpires cracking down on the set play this year

St George Illawarra coach Paul McGregor has questioned a contentious penalty call on hooker Cameron McInnes in the semi-final defeat to the Rabbitohs.

With the Dragons in an attacking position in the final 10 minutes, McInnes was adjudged to have deliberately passed the ball into an opponent, triggering an automatic penalty.

Speaking after his side's loss to South Sydney, McGregor questioned the decision according to his own understanding of the play-the-ball rule, calling the call an "important" one.

"The rule that I know to be is that it's only a penalty if the passer changes his line of pass and I'm not sure if Cam did that," McGregor said.

"So obviously the bloke couldn't get out of the way and it was play on.

"That's fine he didn't have to get out of the way because he didn't have to move.

https://twitter.com/wwos/status/1040925587529850882

"To my liking Cam didn't pass it down, he passed it flat, so I'd say play on."

McGregor's belief was supported by Nine's commentators Andrew Johns and Phil Gould during the broadcast.

Gould especially criticised the referee for cracking down on the play during a pivotal point of the game.

"They made a decision earlier in the year, they were going to stop people from (deliberately passing into the opponent), but it's not really the time to apply it there," Gould said.

"Cameron McInnes was trying to get the ball to his teammate. He had De Belin lined up and the bloke was just laying there."

The play-the-ball rule has been a contentious topic throughout the season, with teams struggling to get a grasp of the umpires cracking down on the set play this year

https://ift.tt/2NNuKW2
//

No comments:

Post a Comment