Infotainment Factory: Senden's airswing causes controversy at Australian PGA

Trending

>

Post Top Ad

Post Top Ad

Thursday, 29 November 2018

Senden's airswing causes controversy at Australian PGA


//

A John Senden air swing has added a unique twist to the opening day of the Australian PGA Championship on the Gold Coast.

Sitting at two-under after eight holes, Senden didn't make contact with his driver on his ball after the shaft flexed and snapped in the grip on his downswing, pinching him in the process.

The rare sight, which left Senden off balance and wringing his right hand, stunned commentators and led to a long discussion with the rules official.

Senden appeared to argue unsuccessfully that, on feeling the club snap, he attempted to pull out of the shot.

It was a view shared by playing partner and fellow Australian veteran Geoff Ogilvy, who expressed his disgust when the rules official suggested the air swing would count as a shot.

Without another driver in his bag, the Brisbane veteran was forced to remove the tee, drop the ball on the tee box and hit an iron.

There was no penalty recorded but the shot counted as Senden's second and he went on to record a bogey on the par-five ninth.

However officials are still viewing footage and are yet to officially make a call on the incident.

A John Senden air swing has added a unique twist to the opening day of the Australian PGA Championship on the Gold Coast.

Sitting at two-under after eight holes, Senden didn't make contact with his driver on his ball after the shaft flexed and snapped in the grip on his downswing, pinching him in the process.

The rare sight, which left Senden off balance and wringing his right hand, stunned commentators and led to a long discussion with the rules official.

Senden appeared to argue unsuccessfully that, on feeling the club snap, he attempted to pull out of the shot.

It was a view shared by playing partner and fellow Australian veteran Geoff Ogilvy, who expressed his disgust when the rules official suggested the air swing would count as a shot.

Without another driver in his bag, the Brisbane veteran was forced to remove the tee, drop the ball on the tee box and hit an iron.

There was no penalty recorded but the shot counted as Senden's second and he went on to record a bogey on the par-five ninth.

However officials are still viewing footage and are yet to officially make a call on the incident.

https://ift.tt/2Ax1N7Y
//

No comments:

Post a Comment