Infotainment Factory: All-Black enforcer earns unwanted piece of history

Trending

>

Post Top Ad

Post Top Ad

Saturday, 10 August 2019

All-Black enforcer earns unwanted piece of history


//

All-Black second-rower Scott Barrett has been given his marching orders on the stroke of half-time in Bledisloe One, becoming only the fourth All-Black in history to be given a straight red card.

In an already absorbing first-half, with tensions building between the two sides, a clearly fatigued Barrett led with the shoulder, making contact with Wallabies skipper Michael Hooper's head in contact.

Referee Jérôme Garcès referred the decision to the TMO, before reaching for his pocket.

Garcès could then be heard on-field telling Barrett he had no choice but to show him a red card for the offence.

"You've made no attempt to wrap the arms, and it's reckless contact with the head," Garcès could be heard saying.

Speaking on Fox Sports' coverage of the affair, Tim Horan said it was a controversial decision.

"That's a massive call from the referee," Horan said.

"They're coming down hard in a rugby world cup year, and this is no different - but I'm not sure about it."

Romain Poite shows Scott Barrett red

Not long after Barrett's red-card, the half-time siren blew with the Wallabies leading 16-12.

Rod Kafer was less in-the-air about the call, however, doubling down during the break.

"It's an absolute no-brainer. The laws of the game dictate that that is a red card," Kafer said.

Australia last won the Bledisloe Cup in 2001.

More to come.

All-Black second-rower Scott Barrett has been given his marching orders on the stroke of half-time in Bledisloe One, becoming only the fourth All-Black in history to be given a straight red card.

In an already absorbing first-half, with tensions building between the two sides, a clearly fatigued Barrett led with the shoulder, making contact with Wallabies skipper Michael Hooper's head in contact.

Referee Jérôme Garcès referred the decision to the TMO, before reaching for his pocket.

Garcès could then be heard on-field telling Barrett he had no choice but to show him a red card for the offence.

"You've made no attempt to wrap the arms, and it's reckless contact with the head," Garcès could be heard saying.

Speaking on Fox Sports' coverage of the affair, Tim Horan said it was a controversial decision.

"That's a massive call from the referee," Horan said.

"They're coming down hard in a rugby world cup year, and this is no different - but I'm not sure about it."

Romain Poite shows Scott Barrett red

Not long after Barrett's red-card, the half-time siren blew with the Wallabies leading 16-12.

Rod Kafer was less in-the-air about the call, however, doubling down during the break.

"It's an absolute no-brainer. The laws of the game dictate that that is a red card," Kafer said.

Australia last won the Bledisloe Cup in 2001.

More to come.

https://ift.tt/2yRGkX8
//

No comments:

Post a Comment